Revelations

Saturday was a looooooong day, with only 3 or 4 hours sleep and waking up at 6.30. The days busking may not have begun at 11 as is my goal, but an hour delay wasn’t to bad.

By the end of the day at 10pm I was dead tired. I was looking forward to getting a bite to eat and then crashing for some much needed sleep.

Being a Saturday, the police were out in force to remind the idiot patrol that starting problems isn’t a good idea, not that that will stop them I am sure. Idiots will be idiots after all.

Seeing one officer I had previously met, I nodded hello and paid my greetings…a little startled by the following query…

“Where are you staying tonight?” 
…which obviously translates to the officer thinking I am homeless and on the street.

I guess when it comes right down to it, no matter the truth, appearance counts for everything and if you look like a bum, then that is what you are.

Fair enough, I always wear the same t-shirt as a sort of unofficial uniform, but strange as it may sound, it is clean (perhaps because I have a dozen handy) and I drag my gear around on a trolley that is falling apart (you get what you pay for…though busking really is heavy wear & tear and for the record, I destroyed a samsanite case within a month)

People think I’m crazy…and that prompts me to push the limits at times just to see where the breaking point may be. The actual benefit though is that a colourful character is more memorable.

Appearance counts.

It is as simple as that.

Still, it could be worse, after all, when I am not busking, people are more likely to think I am an illiterate goon up to no good.

Go figure.

Leave a comment