Daily Archives: August 13, 2011

The Next BIG Thing…

Well, it’s always great to know people love what you are doing for obvious reasons. If people think the world of you, your chances of them supporting you financially by way of donations or by way of positive word of mouth improves dramatically.

Of course the other side of the coin (so to speak) comes from those who see the value in what you offer and have their sights set on how to profit from what you do. Not in and of itself a bad thing assuming you keep in mind that just because a person promises the world, the chances they will deliver is another matter entirely.

Over the past year I have had everyone and their dog wanting me to do work for them…

From a professional wrestler where I spent time on two drawings for them only to have them vanish on me, to tattoo artists all wanting me to work for them. Beyond that, the dozen or so bands, pubs, clubs and cafes, not to mention the hotel and you would be forgiven for thinking I’m working for others 24/7.

But like the wrestler … nothing.

So it is that my interest waned when it comes to the “I can use you…” crowd.

They want you, but any commitment will be entirely in your court with them exempt from having to follow through.

No wonder, tonight when a guy making promises of making me the “next big thing”, failed to raise my interest. It is all well and good to talk the talk, but in the end, words are just words and the only actions that count have been those made by the general public.

I don’t know how I am going to achieve my goals, but I do have goals and if someone’s promises line up with my plans, all the better.

I don’t expect to be the “next big thing” as promised by the guy tonight, but I will happily settle for being “a force to be reckoned with”.

The next step to achieving this goal is simple…scan and prep the panoramas for printing…not as easy as it sounds.

Still, as the saying goes, “where there is a will, there is a way”