Daily Archives: September 28, 2011

Accused of being a fixture

It’s a bit strange when someone asks permission to take a photo of you, refering to you as a “fixture” of Sydney. Actually felt the urge to look for the hooks.

Seriously though, while I have gotten used to requests to take photos of me while I am drawing, the level of respect I seem to encourage still wierds me out a bit. In time I am bound to get used to it, but every time I think I have a handle on things, someone upsets the status quo with a comment a little outside my frame of reference.

You would think one compliment is equal to another, but apparently (at least in my head anyway) it isn’t.

Of course, my ability to draw may encourage respect, but I am sure the moment I open my mouth or comment on things outside my own sphere of influence will result in a less positive response.

Kind of goes without saying really.

But if I fail to give my opinion, then what do I truely stand for?

More importantly, how can I stand by my principles if I do not offer myself up for ridicule occassionaly.

🙂

That thought in and of itself demonstrating the change that busking has wrought on me…the arrogance that my opinion may actually have value.

Of course the big problem is not in having an opinion, rather the difficulty of conveying said opinion in a way that is accurate and easily understood. That is where most people screw up by way of either poor choice of words and sentence structure (raising my hand acknowledging my guilt) or by being verbose and obtuse in their linguistic selection to prove their intellectual standing (or failing that, claiming such superiority)…the difference between the two being the simple miss-use of words as compared to intentional use without regard to the listeners capabilities.

***the best example was when the media ridiculed Pauline Hanson when they accused her of being xenophobic. While I disagree with her politics, the fact that she asked for clarrification regarding the words meaning should be complimented…Pauline is guilty of poor word usage at times while the media choose to use words to entrapped and belittle others (unless they like you at which point such tactics are used in your favour)

Actually, having an opinion is a tad scary when all is said and done.

No wonder I have always avoided proving myself a fool.

Still, better to live as a fool than to fail my own sense of what is right. I may get things wrong from time to time, but as long as I stand by my principles I will always be able to look myself in the eye.

The only real question is if I will be able to look anyone else in the eye. I guess I’ll just have to see how things go.

Live & learn