Daily Archives: September 18, 2011

“When will you quit?”

That has to be the strangest comment I have had…

“When will you quit?”

…seriously?

The comment occurred due to the individual asking why I was doing what I was doing if I wasn’t selling my work.

Now I think I have mentioned that I have had others who felt I was obligated to sell my work because I am an “artist” and that is what artists do. The view being that art can be sold for a lot of money and being wealthy is everyone’s objective.

I have to agree, money is important. Anyone that says it isn’t is either well off or delusional.

But money is not everything.

That is perhaps the biggest revelation I have had since taking up busking. To experience simple joy and knowing others approve of who I am has taken the edge off the need to pursue money.

I have a way to go before I am comfortable with the idea of being a “free spirit” travelling the world on a whim. I like stability far too much.

But the outright expectation that I have a cut off point simply because I am not pursuing monetary gain is a little unsettling.

Yes I have an objective…

It is a simple one…

Satisfaction.

I have always drawn for the simple satisfaction it brought. Why should I quit?

My first objective was survival.

My second to be happy with myself.

Now I look towards improving my life. This will be achieved by way of continuing what I am doing, looking into getting the prints happening as well as sorting out my online presence with the eventual aim of looking at getting the web comic happening.

Much to do…

Quiting is not part of the to do list.